Pierce The Veil @ Montreal Vans Warped Tour 2010

There is just so much to say about this event that I barely know where to start. Let’s see. It’s a tradition for me and my friends to hang out at le Parc Jean-Drapeau here in Montreal, especially when ever the Vans Warped Tour is in town! This year was no exception. Although previously expecting a lot of rain and crazy thunder storms, we ended up with a blissful sunny sky and not a single drop.

The Vans Warped Tour is an outstanding event where over 50 bands get together in one big venue and play sets throughout the day. It’s a great and fun experience because not only do you get to see many different bands, but you also get to check out their merch tents and other different ones supporting causes or selling music-related stuff.

This year, my main goal was to see San Diego quartet Pierce The Veil. To tell you the truth, I have never seen them live before, and for the past year and a half that I’ve been listening to them, they’ve quickly rose up my charts and beat Alesana to being my number 1 favorite band. I almost got scared because it turned out that Alesana and Pierce The Veil’s sets were overlapping, and as much as I wanted to hear The Emptiness live  for the first time, there was no way that I’d miss another Pierce The Veil set. Obviously, they won, and I got to see them during the day.

Before that, I got the chance to actually meet each member of Pierce The Veil: Vic Fuentes on Vocals and Guitar, Mike Fuentes on Drums, Tony Perry on Guitar and Jaime Preciado on Bass. They were signing at the D-Tox clothing tent, and to my luck, I managed to be first in line. I had everything ready: two posters and their latest album cover. Every thing went well, and I was very happy to meet them, even a little too happy (I had a panic/nervousness attack). In the end it was all worth it.

 

There set was perfect. I was in the front row, dead center, thus having a perfect view of the four guys. The whole thing was very energetic, fun, precise, well practiced. These guys really do have great experience and amazing stage presence!! They really blew my mind. Not only do they sound amazing live, but they also put their whole heart and soul into each note played. I lost myself as they played their songs, old and new, ranging from the sweet Chemical Kids & Mechanical Brides, Yeah Boy & Doll Face, to the more rebellious Caraphernelia, The Boy Who Could Fly and Drella. They even played another off their sophomore album Selfish Machines, The Sky Under The Sea. I wish they could have played more songs, but just the fact that they were there right before my eyes and giving their all was enough. They definitely were the highlight of my day, and I can’t wait to see them again!!

This Vans Warped Tour was fuckin’ sick. Can’t wait ’til 2011!!

If you haven’t heard of/checked out Pierce The Veil yet, do it NOW!!

This entry was posted in Music, Shows and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

